23 Years of Exploring the U.P.

23 YEARS: I dont think many people have a tradition that has lasted as long as this.

What started out back in 1995 as a family vacation to the Upper Peninsula of Michigan turned into a long-standing tradition with my relatives and siblings. And what a fun ride it has been.

I still remember the drive up when I was 9 years old, wondering what the place would look like, crossing the Mackinac Bridge for the first time, visiting alllll the touristy attractions like Mystery Spot and Castle Rock.  It was exciting to be getting away someplace completely different from the suburbs of Detroit where I grew up. Each year since has only gotten better.

We have had our share of crazy weather and a few mishaps but the memories that stand out the most are always the fun times we created. Being awarded the “Piggie Prize” for eating the most ice cream at the local parlor, the “Biggest Fish Award” which was always a toss up of who won because even though we were on one of the biggest inland lakes in the U.P, there weren’t any fish.  We had crazy wind storms that blew our pontoon boat onto shore, thunderstorms that knocked out power, and a temperature ranging from 50 degrees to 90! You never know what crazyness might ensue but no matter what, we enjoy the week away from “real life”.

Once I had my daughter this tradition became even more special.  I love showing her this area that holds so many great childhood memories. Even into adulthood we are still creating new memories as a family. She may not understand the impact that this place has had on my life yet, but I hope someday she will want to carry on this tradition with her family.

What I am looking forward to this year: morning kayaking on the calm lake, afternoon fishing trips (with hopefully more fish caught!), late night campfires complete with S’mores and decompressing from this crazy season of life.

So tell me – what traditions do you have in your family that have been long-standing? Any iconic places you visit year after year?

Till next time…


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.